Meta Data

I believe that the most prudent use of my time is not to create more information, but to make the information already created accessible and usable. There is a lot of information that will go uncovered because there it is not properly indexed. I plan, for my semester project, to help the Connecticut State Library in their meta-data creation endeavor. The primary piece of technology I will encounter is XML. While i have a basic knowledge of HTML, a language that is used to display data, I have had no real interaction with XML, a language used to describe data.

Over the past week I have used the W3 school’s XML tutorial and I am planning on meeting with the Connecticut State Library to learn exactly what they want me to do. Creating meta data will be an important part of the library’s process of learning what they have in their collection and will get them closer to being able to use the artifacts that they already possess.

One thought on “Meta Data

Leave a Reply

